Anglesey Circuit in North Wales, which arguably boasts the most stunning vista in UK motorsport, welcomes the fast and furious Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres next weekend, 26th/27th May, for the fourth race meeting of the 2018 season.

With spectacular views across the Irish Sea, from its position on the west coast of the isle of Anglesey, the Welsh venue is always massively popular with competitors and spectators alike and rounds six and seven of the campaign are set to be absolute classics.

Alongside the annual visit of the National Championship, as during previous years drivers and teams from the sister Scottish Legends Cars and Irish Legends Cars will be heading to Anglesey for their latest rounds – meaning a total of 13 Legends Cars races across the three categories.

One of the highlights will be the standalone grand finale ‘Nations Cup’ on the Sunday afternoon where competitors from all three championships will battle it out for the coveted trophy, and a large helping of bragging rights too!

After three outstanding race meetings so far this year, the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres will undoubtedly provide superb action across the two days at Anglesey with reigning and three-time champion John Mickel (Horsham) leading the way in the driver standings with a total of six victories to his credit thus far in 2018.

Fellow race winner Steve Whitelegg (Bury), who has two victories under his belt, is second in the title battle and will be determined to make inroads into the points leader’s advantage – particularly having been a race winner at Anglesey last season.

Holding an impressive third in the overall championship is last year’s Rookie Champion Miles Rudman (Sutton Coldfield), who has a pair of wins under his belt up to now and is looking every bit a realistic title prospect. Fellow West Midlander Jack Parker (Wolverhampton) is fourth and always a threat in the lead pack, plus he was a winner during the corresponding event last season.

One notable absentee next weekend unfortunately, as he was during the previous event at Croft, will be Welsh favourite Ben Power (Guilsfield, Powys) who is having to sit-out a couple of events for family reasons.

Another driver having to forego the trip to Anglesey is Finnish driver Miikka Riihimaa, who earlier this week became the proud father to a baby daughter – huge congratulations from all at Legends Cars to Miikka and his wife on their wonderful news! Taking over Riihimaa’s car will be American driver Jordan O’Brien.

Even with Power and Riihimaa missing from the grid, a very healthy entry of over 20 cars, plus the trusty Se-Van of Nathan Anthony (Horley), is set to contest rounds six and seven of the National Championship season.

Outside the current series top four, keep a keen eye on the likes of Sean Smith (High Wycombe), double 2018 race winner Will Gibson (Camberley), reigning Masters Champion Paul Simmons (Lingfield) and former overall champion Stephen Treherne (London) as potential victors. Treherne makes only his second appearance of the year next weekend, since returning to Legends in March.

“Anglesey is always one of the tracks we look forward most to visiting each year, it’s a fabulous venue with an incredible location and always delivers first class Legends Cars action”, said Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres owner Phil Cooper, “There’s a bit of everything with the undulation, fast sweeps and slower hairpins, meaning a great recipe for action and overtaking.

“Last year’s races at Anglesey were fantastic and we’re expecting more of the same this year, plus it’s always great to have the Scottish and Irish Legends with us for the Nations Cup. Up to now Jack Parker, Miles Rudman and John Mickel have all led the championship this season – I wonder if we’ll see another name on top when we depart Anglesey next weekend?”

Qualifying for the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres will get underway at 10.00 next Saturday, 26th May, with Heat One beginning at 12.45, Heat Two following at 14.55 and the Final set to commence at 17.05.

On Sunday, 27th May, qualifying starts at 09.00 with Heat One at 10.35, Heat Two at 12.55 and the Final at 14.40. The ‘Nation’s Cup’ challenge race will conclude the weekend’s action at 16.15. Live timing across the event will be available HERE

Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres Points (after Rd5):
1st John Mickel, 2590pts; 2nd Steve Whitelegg, 2385pts; 3rd Miles Rudman, 2305pts;
4th Jack Parker, 2050pts; 5th Sean Smith, 1830pts; 6th Will Gibson, 1820pts

Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres Masters Class Leader (after Rd5):
1st John Mickel, 2590pts

Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres Rookie Class Leader (after Rd5):
1st Sy Harraway, 1180pts