Just three race meetings now remain in the battle for the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres 2019 title and it couldn’t be much closer at the top of the standings as the series prepares to make its annual visit to Snetterton 300 Circuit in Norfolk next weekend, 7th/8th September.

Going into rounds nine and 10 of the season at the longest track on the calendar, new points leader Miles Rudman (Sutton Coldfield) holds a slender 20 point advantage in the championship fight after moving ahead of reigning, and five-time, Legends champion John Mickel (Horsham) last time out.

During the previous event at Donington Park three weeks ago, Rudman and Mickel were both race winners and chalked up significant points hauls across the event – although both also incurred some deductions from their respective points totals due to separate on-track skirmishes.

With the points gap between the two rivals so close, and with third placed Sean Smith (Marlow) just 85 points adrift of Mickel, the scene is set for another fantastic weekend of action and the likes of Sy Harraway (Weston-super-Mare) and Marcus Pett (Boston) are also not too far behind at all.

Don’t forget either, with 200 points available for a race win and a total of 18 races remaining before the final chequered flag of the season falls at Brands Hatch in early November, a huge amount is still likely to change between now and the conclusion of the 25th anniversary Legends Cars campaign.

Donington’s six races delivered no fewer than five race winners, underlining the competitiveness of this year’s tremendous championship, and Will Gibson (Camberley) emerged as the most successful in those terms with two fantastic wins – his maiden successes of 2019.

Harraway, last year’s Rookie Champion, and Paul Simmons (Lingfield) also took a victory apiece and the latter actually became the 11th different winner of the season during the second day’s Final at the East Midlands track to secure, like Gibson, his first win since the corresponding event last year.

Other victors so far this season include Smith and Connor Mills (Upminster), who have a hat-trick of wins each, while James Hall-Morton (Cleckheaton), Jack Parker (Wolverhampton) and Tom Grainger (Sidcup) all have a victory each.

Harraway and Pett, meanwhile, are the most successful in terms of wins this season so far with four apiece and it was Snetterton last year where Pett first became a winner in Legends Cars, so expect both of them to be in the thick of the battle in East Anglia.

Outside the main championship contenders, drivers such as Nathan Anthony (Horley) – who races the only Se-Van in Legends – Robert King (York), Nick Bridgeman (Baldock), Mike Schlup (Cuckfield), Paul Simkiss (Rochdale) and Rickie Leggatt (Worthing) are all ones to watch.

Snetterton’s 2.97-mile 300 Circuit always provides a unique challenge with two long straights, a twisty infield section with a number of overtaking opportunities, and the famous Bomb Hole and Coram right-handers. Of course, with a big grid once again expected next weekend the action will be fast and furious for the 1250cc motorcycle engined ‘pocket rockets’.

“Things really are beginning to heat up in this year’s title battle and with 11 different race winners so far this season, who would bet against us reaching 12 or more at Snetterton”, said Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres owner Phil Cooper, “It’s been an outstanding season so far, just as we’d anticipated for our 25th anniversary year, and I’m sure Snetterton will be spectacular.

“We have a new championship leader in Miles Rudman after Donington, but there’s very little in it currently between him and John Mickel, with Sean Smith, Sy Harraway and Marcus Pett not too far behind either. Everything is poised very nicely with just three race weekends to go in this season’s championship and we’re looking forward to six fantastic races in Norfolk.”

Qualifying at Snetterton 300 Circuit will get underway at 09.30 next Saturday, 7th September, with Heat One following at 11.45, Heat Two is expected to start at 13.40 and the Final will get underway at 15.15. On Sunday, 8th September, day two qualifying will begin at 09.00, Heat One at 11.45, Heat Two will start at 14.45 and the Final will begin at 17.35.

All of the weekend’s Legends Cars action will be filmed by Digitex Television for subsequent broadcast on Amazon Prime, BARC TV, Motorsport.tv and the Front Runner TV channel. The online and televisual Legends Cars coverage is sponsored by 24hr Solutions.

Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres Points (after Rd8):
1st Miles Rudman, 3470pts; 2nd John Mickel, 3450pts; 3rd Sean Smith, 3365pts;
4th Sy Harraway, 3125pts; 5th Marcus Pett, 3010pts; 6th Connor Mills, 2885pts