Just over a week since the Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres got underway in spectacular style at a snow-hit Oulton Park, the huge grid is getting ready to head to Brands Hatch Indy Circuit for a veritable Easter extravaganza over the coming Bank Holiday weekend.

Marking the first of three visits to the Kent track this year for the all-action Legends Cars, the second race meeting of the 2018 season is also the first of five events where the 5/8 scale pocket rockets will be a key support series to the hugely popular British Truck Racing Championship.

Superb consistency from Jack Parker (Wolverhampton) during the snow-hit curtain-raiser at Oulton Park International Circuit, a hat-trick of podiums from the three races, means he will arrive at Brands as championship leader with a 40 point advantage over his closest rival.

Will Gibson (Camberley), who secured a third career victory during the season opener, also showed tremendous form across the three Oulton races and holds second place in the championship, 10 points ahead of fellow Oulton race winner Steve Whitelegg (Bury). Just a further five points adrift is reigning and three-time champion John Mickel (Horsham).

Fifth in the standings ahead of rounds two and three is last year’s Rookie title winner Miles Rudman (Sutton Coldfield), just 30 points shy of third, with the 2017 Vice-Champion Ben Power (Guilsfield, Powys) in sixth – the latter having suffered brake problems during the Oulton event.

Connor Mills (Upminster), who raced to a fantastic victory in the Final at Oulton off the back of a disappointing engine-related retirement in the preceding Heat, is next up in the championship and will be eying more trophies at his ‘home’ circuit.

Reigning Masters class champion Paul Simmons (Lingfield), Neil Shenton (Middlewich) and category race winner Sean Smith (High Wycombe) complete the top 10 in the driver standings but, with 200 points available for a race victory, championship positions can change very quickly.

As at Oulton, there is also likely to be plenty of international flair on the grid at the weekend with drivers such as Finland’s Miikka Riihimaa looking to build on his UK debut just over a week ago.

Returning former champion Stephen Treherne (London) will be determined to get his season fully on track at Brands, having had a mixed weekend last time out, as will Legends Cars mainstay Nathan Anthony (Horley) in his trusty Se-Van at his home circuit – Brands having been the venue for his maiden podium last November.

In the two class battles, the Rookie championship is led by former Brisca F2 stock car racer Sy Harraway (Weston-super-Mare) while the Masters class is headed going into Brands by Mickel from reigning Masters champion Simmons.

With incredible strength in depth, the 2018 Legends Cars National Championship with MRF Tyres has the much sought-after mix in motorsport of both quality and quantity. With thousands of fans expected to file through the gates at Brands Hatch throughout the Easter weekend, the second event of the season is guaranteed to be an absolute cracker.

Notably, the race meeting also marks the first of the year which will be filmed by Digitex Television for broadcast on the Motorsport TV channel. As such, the Legends Cars will feature a new Dyno Rod logo across the top of the front window opening – the national brand having come onboard in 2018 as the championship’s TV sponsor.

Opening qualifying at Brands Hatch will take place at 10.00 on Easter Sunday, 1st April, with Heat One getting underway at 12.10, Heat Two following at 14.35 and the opening day’s Final set to begin at 16.40. On Easter Monday, 2nd April, qualifying starts at 09.25 with Heat One scheduled for 11.25, Heat Two set to commence at 13.40 and the Final expected to begin at 16.15.

Live timing will be available throughout the event at www.tsl-timing.co.uk

MRF Legends Cars National Championship Points (after Rd1):
1st Jack Parker, 540pts; 2nd Will Gibson, 500pts; 3rd Steve Whitelegg, 490pts;
4th John Mickel, 485pts; 5th Miles Rudman, 460pts; 6th Ben Power, 390pts

MRF Legends Cars National Championship Masters Class (after Rd1):
1st John Mickel, 485pts; 2nd Paul Simmons, 330pts; 3rd Nathan Anthony, 230pts

MRF Legends Cars National Championship Rookie Class (after Rd1):
1st Sy Harraway, 180pts; 2nd James Hall-Morton, 60pts; 3rd Phil Turner, 15pts